Campus DCNS

2011 (Concours, permis obtenu, non construit) | Toulon, France

  • Campus DCNS Plan masse du campus
  • Campus DCNS Vue aérienne du campus
  • Campus DCNS Vue aérienne du campus
  • Campus DCNS Elévation
  • Campus DCNS Place centrale paysagée
  • Campus DCNS Place centrale paysagée
  • Campus DCNS Restaurant

STUDIOS a répondu, en équipe avec le promoteur Bouygues Immobilier, à un concours lancé par la DCNS (maintenant Naval Group), leader mondial du naval de défense, pour la création de son nouveau campus de recherche et de développement. Le projet a vocation à transmettre une image claire et innovante de son utilisateur, à la fois dynamique et évocatrice de la haute technologie.
Fonctionnellement, le projet se décline autour de quatre bâtiments similaires complétés par le pavillon d’entrée qui sert également de business center. Ces bâtiments s’organisent autour d’un foyer central, élément fédérateur du campus. Le langage architectural se développe à partir d’un concept naval dont les bâtiments aux allures de coques renversées, favorisent la circulation le long de coursives extérieures.
Chaque bâtiment est conçu avec des plateaux de 18 m de largeur qui permettent une grande flexibilité dans leur configuration. Le système des façades se veut économique, fonctionnel et séduisant et prévoit des parements verticaux entre les niveaux tout en épousant au mieux les formes des bâtiments.

DCNS Campus Competition

2011 (Competition) | Toulon, France

  • DCNS Campus Competition Campus aerial view
  • DCNS Campus Competition Main entrance to the campus
  • DCNS Campus Competition Landscaped central area
  • DCNS Campus Competition Cafeteria
  • DCNS Campus Competition Typical floor plate
  • DCNS Campus Competition Meeting area

STUDIOS teamed up with the developer Bouygues Immobilier in response to a competition launched by DCNS (now Naval Group Campus), world leader in naval defence, for the design of their new corporate R&D campus. On a design level, the project aim was to give a clear image of its tenant, which reflected the company’s values of dynamic innovation and was evocative of the high tech world.
On a functional level, the campus consists of four buildings organized around a central landscaped area that acts as the unifying element of the site. The entrance pavilion also serves as a business centre. The architectural language is drawn from naval vernacular, the buildings evocative of upside down ships that are surrounded by external walkways reminiscent of boat decks.
Each building is composed of highly flexible 18-metre wide floor plates. The facades are designed to be functional, attractive and economical in their construction and maintenance, with full height solar cladding embracing the shapes of the building. The project aim was to seek the French HQE sustainable design certification with a BBC, low energy consumption, label.