GSA US Forest Service Headquarters

2013 | Washington, DC, USA

  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Salle de conférence © Ulf Wallin
  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Cuisine © Ulf Wallin
  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Salon © Ulf Wallin
  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Salle polyvalente © Ulf Wallin
  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Forest Plaza © Judy Davis
  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Vue extérieure du bâtiment © Ulf Wallin
  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Plan d'étage

STUDIOS a été sélectionné par la GSA pour développer une stratégie workplace afin de consolider les 4 entités du Service des Forêts des Etats-Unis (USFS) en un seul siège sur le National Mall dans le bâtiment historique de Sidney Yates, à l’angle de la 14ème Rue et de Independance Avenue. Suite au succès de la démarche, STUDIOS a ensuite été chargé du design des espaces de travail et de la mise en œuvre de la conception-réalisation.

Les lignes directrices du projet prennent en compte l’accroissement du télétravail et de la collaboration, la reconnaissance de la diversité des styles de travail, l’intégration d’une technologie grandissante et les pratiques émergentes. Ces objectifs ont été conjugués avec les besoins de rénovation du bâtiment, notamment un budget restreint, tout en créant un lieu de travail moderne et attrayant pour les employés de l’USFS, afin de favoriser collaboration et interaction.

La conception de l’espace a permis de créer une “colonne vertébrale” dans chacune des zones de travail qui comprenaient une variété d’espaces de réunion, des bureaux individuels et des zones collaboratives. En disposant des postes de travail ouverts autour de ces “colonnes”, la surface occupée précédemment par les employés 769 employés de l’USFS est passée de 25 900 m² à un espace de 16 770 m², soit un gain de 36 %.

Le planning serré du projet a néanmoins permis à STUDIOS de respecter son engagement initial, à savoir une stratégie workplace élaborée en novembre 2012 et un déménagement en décembre 2013.

GSA US Forest Service Headquarters

2013 | Washington, DC

  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Conference Room Ulf Wallin
  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Pantry Ulf Wallin
  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Lounge Ulf Wallin
  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Multi-Function Ulf Wallin
  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Forest Plaza Judy Davis
  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Exterior of Historic Building Ulf Wallin
  • GSA US Forest Service Headquarters Floor Plan

STUDIOS was selected by GSA to create a Workplace Strategy to consolidate the US Forest Service (USFS) from four separate locations into a single headquarters on The National Mall in the historic Sidney Yates building located at 14th and Independence Avenue, SW. Following successful completion of the Strategy, STUDIOS was then tasked with designing the workspace through design development for a design-build implementation under a separate contract.

The project’s guiding principles included an increase in teleworking and collaboration, recognition of a diversity of workstyles, integration of greater technology, and incorporating emerging practices. Coupled with these goals were the building renovation issues, which were to implement the project with minimal costs while creating a modern workplace that is attractive to USFS employees in order to foster collaboration and interaction.

The design of the space created a “spine” within each work area that included a variety of meeting spaces, private rooms and collaboration areas. By surrounding the spines with open workstations, STUDIOS re-organized USFS’s 769 employees from 278,792 sf of space into 180,498 sf, an efficiency of 36%.

The project has occurred on a fast-track timeframe with STUDIOS initial engagement for Workplace Strategy beginning in November, 2012 and project move-in December, 2013.